«

»

Sep 25

100 Kata for Karate Day 2014

A Challenge Okinawa! and DOJO Bar sponsored event

We are pleased to announce a new martial arts event in Okinawa. A kata demonstration event open to all styles and dojos, this is a celebration of Okinawa martial arts to be held on October 25th – ‘Karate Day’ in Okinawa.
Inspired by the classic karate phrase – 百練剛- “Train hard 100 times”, we propose a 100 kata performance starting at sunrise on Karate Day.
The event will commence at 6am (Japan time) on October 25th 2014. Each participating dojo is asked to select a kata which will be performed for 100 repetitions. There is no time limit for completion of the 100 kata but we expect the event to last around 2 hours (120 mins).
We strongly encourage everyone to take part in this historic event regardless of style, level, age, etc. As they say in Okinawa – ‘Ichariba chodei’ , “once we meet we are all brothers and sisters”.
On Okinawa the event will take place inside the grounds of Zakimi Castle Site, located in Yomitan village. We expect 500 participants from local dojo. Outside Okinawa we invite overseas dojo to join the Okinawa participants in this simultaneous event. They will start at exactly the same time (equivalent of 6am Japan time) and can share video and photos on our Youtube channel afterwards. We aim for 100+ dojos or 5000+ overseas participants who will all have a keen interest in karate and Okinawa.
The event is conceived and produced by James Pankiewicz, owner at The DOJO Bar (Naha, Okinawa) and director of ‘Challenge Okinawa! (G.G.)

Location: Zakimi Castle
Site: Yomitan village
Japan local time – 6:00am start (assemble 5:30am)
GMT time – 10pm start (Oct 24)
Central time (USA & Canada) – 4pm start (Oct 24)
Australia – 8am start (Oct 25>

Challenge Okinawa!!DOJO BARによるイベント

沖縄(そして国外)に、空手イベントがやってくるという嬉しいお知らせです。
このイベントは、全ての流派や道場が参加出来る空手デモンストレーションのイベントです。イベントは10月25日沖縄空手の日に開催される、沖縄武道の祭 典です。百練剛(100回ハードトレーニングをする)という古典的な空手の語句に、触発されてできました。私たちは、日の出とともに100型を行うことを 提案します。
イベントは、2014年10月25日(日本時間)午前6時より開始します。参加する各道場の方々は、100回繰り返し行う型を、選ぶ必要があります。
100型を完了するのに、時間制限はありません。しかし、イベント時間は2時間となります。流派、レベル、年齢、性別、その他、関係なく、この歴史的なイ ベントに参加することを強く推奨します。沖縄の人々がいうように、「いちゃりばちょーでー」一度出逢ったら皆兄弟だから仲良く付き合いましょう!
イベントについては、沖縄座喜味城敷地内にて行われます。
読谷村に位置します。地元道場から、500人の参加者が集まります。
沖縄外では、同時に沖縄の参加者と一つになって、イベントへ参加する海外の道場の方々を招待します。海外からの参加者は、正確に同じ時刻に開始します。(日本時間午前6時と同時刻)そして、ビデオで録画したものや、イベントの写真をイベントウェブサイト上で共有します。
私たちは、100以上の道場、又、空手と沖縄に強い関心を持っている500人以上の海外参加者を集めることが目標です。
このイベントは、DOJO BARのオーナー兼Challenge Okinawa!のディレクターであるジェームス•パンキュビッチによって創造され、プロデュースされました。(G.G)

場所:読谷村 座喜味城跡
日本現地時刻-午前6時開始(午前5時集合)

世界標準時-午後10時開始(10月24日)
中部時間(アメリカ•カナダ)-午後4時開始(10月24日)
オーストラリア-午後8時開始(10月25日)